Image hosted by Photobucket.com

About / Rules / News / Profile
Links / Buttons / Diaryrings
Trust Your Instincts / Creator of Speak Out / Current Facilitator

Guestbook / Notes / E-Mail

Previous / Next / Current / Archive

Add an entry


2005-07-29 | Today


Last night I watched a news program featuring a story that included a woman confronting her father about the sexual abuse he inflicted upon her during her childhood.

I don't know if it was because I watched it right before I fell asleep or something else but my night was filled with flickering images of my grandfather and his abuse. It has been years since I had to give up rest to deal with him.

During the day, I have spoken of his abuse to other people to straighten things out in my head or to help someone else realize they are not alone. But, since his death years ago, he has not invaded my sleep.

I consider myself successful in managing this issue. It is a fact. This abuse combined with other abuses survived throughout childhood caused me to make some unhealthy decisions and create some unhealthy habits. It has also helped to make me the person I am today, a person I happen to like.

This morning I woke remembering I am a survivor and powerful woman who makes her own decisions now. Interesting how a reminder of something horrible from the past can empower me today.


Forty-Plus


Previous | Next | Current


Last 5 Updates:
- 2008-06-27
Relating To A Postcard - 2008-06-26
Sexual/Assault - 2008-04-04
so easy.. - 2007-03-20
here - 2006-10-14