Image hosted by Photobucket.com

About / Rules / News / Profile
Links / Buttons / Diaryrings
Trust Your Instincts / Creator of Speak Out / Current Facilitator

Guestbook / Notes / E-Mail

Previous / Next / Current / Archive

Add an entry


2003-03-23 | I'm Still Me


Here's one of the poems I wrote after I told a few people about my rape. I felt like they wanted to protect me from the truth and fear of what happened, which is kinda weird considering 'I' was the one that went through every second of it and would continue to replay it no matter what they said or did.

Don't stop talking when I walk into the room.

Carry on with the conversation,

maybe I have things to say too.

Don't look at the floor in silence when you see me,

Stop, look me in the eye,

Ask how I am and I'll tell you.

Don't quickly switch channels and change the subject if 'it' comes up.

It's happened to me no matter how much you you hide it.

So just ask me how I'm dealing with the rape.

Don't lie to make me feel better,

Say what you're thinking

I have thoughts too.

Don't hide your preoblems because you think I have enough of my own.

Cry, tell me about it

and maybe I can help you.

Don't wrap me in a bubble and protect me,

treat me like a normal person.

I've experienced bad things but I'm still me.

I was raped, abused, used...whatever...

I'm not disabled or in need of special care and treatment.

Just treat me like before it happened then maybe I won't feel so different to you.

I was hurt, I still am hurt,

But I can still laugh, joke, comfort, smile, think, talk, touch, hear...

I can still do all that so let me be me,

don't make me play the isolated victim all my life.

Lora @ Still I Rise



Previous | Next | Current


Last 5 Updates:
- 2008-06-27
Relating To A Postcard - 2008-06-26
Sexual/Assault - 2008-04-04
so easy.. - 2007-03-20
here - 2006-10-14