Image hosted by Photobucket.com

About / Rules / News / Profile
Links / Buttons / Diaryrings
Trust Your Instincts / Creator of Speak Out / Current Facilitator

Guestbook / Notes / E-Mail

Previous / Next / Current / Archive

Add an entry


2003-10-06 | You're Not Immune


I wrap my brain around the horror of it all.

I can't ever understand why when something as horrible as rape/molestation is inflicted upon someone, that they are the ones targetted with other's anger? What is it I'm ignorant about that a sexual assault victim/survivor is made responsible? Deep down, nobody wants to get raped/molested, yet when it does happen, others believe that you somehow wanted it: This puzzles me to no end. If I had 5 bucks swiped from my hand, and there were no other witnesses around, there'd be no doubt that people would sympathize and know that what happened to me was wrong, yet someone overpowers me and enters a part of me that feels different to me from now on, and the public's thinking becomes backwards.

It's like people would rather believe something than know something, for it takes effort to look up info in books and on the internet, whereas to gather and gossip/chit-chat/discuss is easier when you want to vent, creating all sorts of beliefs not based on facts.

People don't seem to want to believe your story. They'd rather fill-in-the-blanks themselves, buy into the only reality that makes sense to them: They think they're immune!

The worst thing you could do is assume that it won't happen to you. When it does happen to someone you know, we want to reason ourselves that that person brought it upon themselves, making us safe in our little brains.

Deep down, before it happened to me, I was aware that it could possibly happen to me, but I couldn't conceive it, without the stereotypical scenario, then picturing myself somehow getting out of it.

Sometimes the imagination can make you believe all sorts of things.

Carl Sagan said, "I don't want to believe. I want to know!

CHUFFNUTT

Previous | Next | Current


Last 5 Updates:
- 2008-06-27
Relating To A Postcard - 2008-06-26
Sexual/Assault - 2008-04-04
so easy.. - 2007-03-20
here - 2006-10-14