Image hosted by Photobucket.com

About / Rules / News / Profile
Links / Buttons / Diaryrings
Trust Your Instincts / Creator of Speak Out / Current Facilitator

Guestbook / Notes / E-Mail

Previous / Next / Current / Archive

Add an entry


2004-05-07 | Statistics


They're everywhere. Rape statistics are popping out of magazines, commercials on TV, pamphlets sitting in doctor's waiting rooms, and infomercials on the radio. I see these statistics and use them like a checklist. Yes, this happened. No, it wasn't like that. Did that happened? I don't remember. It's all so surreal, all the numbers blanket my emotions from getting out of control. It's only numbers right?

Then it hits me. I'm a number. I'm nothing but statistic. All those that this has happened to are squished into simple percentage signs. All we invoke are head shakes and sad faces as people move to turn the magazine page or switch radio stations. I am outraged and ashamed. Not including the dozens of women I have met on the Internet, I have known 6 people personally that have been raped, not including me. They deserve more than just a passing glance.

Here's how my story plays out in statistics�

One out of every six American women have been the victims of an attempted or completed rape in their lifetime. [Prevalence, Incidence and Consequences of Violence Against Women Survey, National Institute of Justice and Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1998.] I am part of that little over 16% of the American female population.

About 44% of rape victims are under age 18. Three out of every twenty victims (15%) are under age 12. [Sex Offenses and Offenders. Bureau of Justice Statistics, U.S. Department of Justice, 1997.] I was barely 13.

93% of juvenile sexual assault victims knew their attacker; 34.2% were family members and 58.7% acquaintances. Only 7% of the perpetrators were strangers to the victim. [Sexual Assault of Young Children as Reported to Law Enforcement. Bureau of Justice Statistics, U.S. Department of Justice, 2000] He was an acquaintance, a self proclaimed friend.

Approximately 66% of rape victims know their assailant. [National Crime and Victimiaztion Survey 2000.] Again, he was a "friend."

43% of rapes occur between 6 p.m. and midnight. 24% occur between midnight and 6am. The other 33% take place between 6am and 6pm. [Source not found] It happened late morning/early afternoon.

Juveniles accounted for about 16% of forcible rape arrestees in 1995 and 17% of those arrested for other sex offenses. [Sex Offenses and Offenders. Bureau of Justice Statistics, U.S. Department of Justice, 1997.] He was almost 13 years old.

In 2001, only about 7% of rapes involved the use of a weapon�two percent used a gun, and four percent used a knife. 86% of victims reported the use of physical force only, and 7% were unsure. [National Crime and Victimiaztion Survey 2000.] There was a knife he used to slice away at my dignity as he did my insides.

Exposure to physical or sexual abuse, physical or emotional neglect, and chaotic family conditions during childhood, latency and adolescence are reliable predictors of cutting. Van der Kolk, Perry, and Herman (1991). I am a recovering cutter.

61% of rapes/sexual assaults are not reported to the police. Those rapists, of course, never serve a day in prison. [National Crime Victimiaztion Survey 1999.] I never reported, I didn't dare. He walked free while I condemned myself to a prison I did not deserve.

Moon Sphinx

Previous | Next | Current


Last 5 Updates:
- 2008-06-27
Relating To A Postcard - 2008-06-26
Sexual/Assault - 2008-04-04
so easy.. - 2007-03-20
here - 2006-10-14