Image hosted by Photobucket.com

About / Rules / News / Profile
Links / Buttons / Diaryrings
Trust Your Instincts / Creator of Speak Out / Current Facilitator

Guestbook / Notes / E-Mail

Previous / Next / Current / Archive

Add an entry


2003-11-17 | Another Bullet


My God, I have been on an emotional rollercoaster today. Following ups and downs, I come to my Women's Studies class that is usually a total drag. For the 1st 2 hours, it is just that. Then we get into discussing The House on Mango Street There is one chapter in which the main character gets raped. It disturbed me last night to read. She felt how I felt. She cried what I cried. But I am at that point where I was able to acknowledge it, level with it, find a little comfort, and move on. But I am NOT at the point where I could listen to a 45-minute discussion about rape. The word was tossed about like a volleyball, everybody putting their own 2 cents in, and then the next classmate would come up to have a hit. Opinions�generalities�statistics�rape over time...rapists�

I felt my extremities starting to go numb and that feeling worked it's way into the core of my body until it reached my heart. I thought about my own experience. I thought about all those I met that have been through it. About how every time I heard, "I was�", another bullet was lodged in my struggling red organ. Not you too� I wanted to scream, "ENOUGH! Can't we talk about something else now?" My eyes welled up as I started to feel his dirty hands sliding down my thighs.

It's important to talk about, to stop, but can't you see what it's doing to me? I went through it!! This isn't just a discussion for me. It's a revival!! But I don't speak because I don't know how to say what I want in a sane manner.

The girl sitting in front of me is a friend from childhood. We have not been very close since the 5th grade for no reason in particular. She says she is a Rape Response Team member and talks a little about what she's heard. After class I put my arm around her and say, "Thank you for doing what you do. I could never do something like that."

She in turn, puts her arm around me, "Sure. I like helping people. Not a good class, huh?"

"That lecture fucked with my head," I say, still fighting back tears. We exit the building into the night.

"Well, you know 1 in 3�" my old friend trails off.

"Yeah," I croak.

"You know, the Crisis Center sponsors a rape survivor's group called Women Who've Been There."

"Thanks, but I'm not interested," I say. After getting home, I call her on her cell phone. "Just do me a favor. Don't tell anybody. The family doesn't know and you know how the neighborhood likes to talk."

"First off, you didn't tell me anything. Second off, Why would I tell?" she asks.

"Exactly," I say. I hesitate, but have to ask, "You too?"

"Me too," comes the response I dreaded.

Another bullet in my poor heart.

"Those bastards."

*~Moon Sphinx~*

Previous | Next | Current


Last 5 Updates:
- 2008-06-27
Relating To A Postcard - 2008-06-26
Sexual/Assault - 2008-04-04
so easy.. - 2007-03-20
here - 2006-10-14