Image hosted by Photobucket.com

About / Rules / News / Profile
Links / Buttons / Diaryrings
Trust Your Instincts / Creator of Speak Out / Current Facilitator

Guestbook / Notes / E-Mail

Previous / Next / Current / Archive

Add an entry


2003-02-01 | Me and A Gun


Tori Amos' music has been so important in my journey towards healing after rape. I hadn't heard much of her music until a friend took me to a Tori Amos concert that blew me away. I bought the �Little Earthquakes� CD because I heard she had written a song about her own rape experience. I couldn't imagine anyone being brave enough to sing about something so personal.

The power of the song, is comforting to me because I knew I wasn't alone. We hear the numbers, we know it must happen to others, but no one talks about it. We feel isolated and ashamed. Tori's music gives us hope and inspiration, and for that, I'm ever grateful.

*~The Moon Sphinx~*

Me and A Gun

5 am Friday morning Thursday night far from sleep
I'm still up and driving can't go home obviously
So I'll just change direction cause they'll soon know where I live
And I wanna live
Got a full tank and some chips
It was me and a gun and a man on my back
And I sang "holy holy" as he buttoned down his pants
You can laugh
It's kind of funny
Things you think
Times like these
Like I haven't seen Barbados so I must get out of this
Yes I wore a slinky red thing
Does that mean I should spread for you, your friends

Your father, Mr Ed
It was me and a gun and a man on my back
But I haven't seen Barbados so I must get out of this
And I know what this means
Me and Jesus a few years back used to hang
And he said "it's your choice babe just remember
I don't think you'll be back in 3 days time so you choose well"
Tell me what�s right

Is it my right to be on my stomach of Fred's Seville
It was me and a gun and a man on my back
But I haven't seen Barbados so I must get out of this
and do you know Carolina
Where the biscuits are soft and sweet
These things go through your head when there's a man on your back
And you're pushed flat on your stomach it's not a classic caddilac
It was me and a gun and a man on my back
But I haven't seen Barbados so I must get out of this
I haven't seen Barbados so I must get out of this



Previous | Next | Current


Last 5 Updates:
- 2008-06-27
Relating To A Postcard - 2008-06-26
Sexual/Assault - 2008-04-04
so easy.. - 2007-03-20
here - 2006-10-14